A GRANDMOTHER’S “WORD”

Cause me to hear Thy loving kindness in the morning, for in Thee do I trust. Cause me to know the way wherein I should walk, for I lift up my soul unto Thee. Psalm 143:8 (KJV)

I know a businessman who is in process of making a critical decision. He quoted the above scripture to me saying it had guided him for years and that his grandmother had “given” it to him. He is resting in the expectation that God will guide and give him the direction he needs. This man heads up a multimillion dollar corporation, and he still relies on a verse his grandmother spoke to him years ago.

How many of us affirm our children (and grandchildren) with scripture, and how authentic is the spiritual life we live before them so that they value our words—and keep them in their hearts forever? Little things we can do that cost nothing and that bear lifelong fruit in the lives of those we love…

Father, keep me faithful to encourage those you’ve given me, to affirm them in your Word, and to live uprightly before them. In Christ our Lord. Amen.

Leave a Reply

